Police Department

The Police Department’s mission is to provide quality service by reducing crime, preserving the peace and being responsive to the public.  The Department achieves this goal through the effort of its 17 sworn officers and support personnel.  Through the Boy Scouts of America, the Police Department hosts an Explorer Post that currently has 3 community members ages 14-20 to assist the department with special functions.

Police officers act as official representatives of government and are required and trusted to work within the law. Officers’ powers and duties are conferred by statute. Fundamental duties of police officers include: serving the community; safeguarding lives and property; protecting the innocent; keeping the peace; and ensuring the rights of all to liberty, equality, and justice and most importantly be readily available to answer all calls for service.


The Police Department is located on the first floor of City Hall. Our offices are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. If you have any questions, please call (816) 741-4454.  After 4 p.m., please call (816) 741-4454 and your call will be forwarded to the officer on duty.

Police Chief Kevin Chrisman
Police Captain Jon Jordan
Police Detective Craig Hubbell
Police Secretary Cindy Liberty